Industry News

Back >>

National Sustainable Agricultural Development Plan (2015- 2030) Issued

Release time:2015-08-02

The "National Sustainable Agricultural Development Plan (2015- 2030)" was officially released on May 27, 2015, which provides an important guidance for the sustainable agricultural development in the future. Based on factors such as agricultural resources capacity, environmental capacity, ecological types and development basis, the Plan divides China into three zones named optimized development areas, moderate development areas, and protected development areas with the aim to advance development in a phased manner and implement appropriate policies in line with local conditions.


The Optimized development areas include the Northeast region, the Huanghuaihai region, the middle and lower reaches of the Yangtze River and South China, which are the main areas for agricultural production. They benefit from good production conditions and excellent potential, and should focus on production, meanwhile take into account ecological development as well as combination of farming and aquaculture, and achieve stable production growth, sustainable use of resources, and eco-friendliness on the premise that production capacity increases steadily for major agricultural products such as grains. The Moderate development areas include the Northwest region, Southwest region and regions along the Great Wall, which have distinctive features of agricultural production but suffer from water and soil configuration dislocation and limited resources capacity. They should adhere to both conservation and development, moderate tapping of potential, intensive utilization and saving, and orderly use. The Protected development areas include the Qinghai-Tibet region and marine fishery areas. These areas are strategically positioned for ecological protection and construction. They should focus on ecological protection, restrict development, explore eco-industries and special industries to contribute to a healthy ecosystem.